Bideford and Bude a Forced Marriage

The initial report from the Boundary Commission has been released. For Cornwall there are going to be some pretty big changes. As most people thought, (who cared) there will be a shared MP between Devon and Cornwall. No doubt this will be met with anger in some quarters.

The report is HERE; first released by the blogger Guido Fawkes, But if you dont want to click, here are the full details including the areas included in the new parliamentary seats.

Bodmin and Newquay  (75,997) which includes –

Bodmin Central Bodmin East, Bodmin West, Colan and Mawgan, Lanivet, Mount Hawke and Portreath, Newlyn and Goonhavern, Newquay Central, Newquay Pentire, Newquay Treloggan, Newquay Tretherras, Newquay, Padstow, Perranporth, St Agnes, St Columb, St Dennis, St Endellion, St Enoder, St Issey, Wadebridge East, Wadebridge West.

Falmouth and Camborne (76,547)
Camborne Central, Camborne North, Camborne South, Camborne West, Carn Brea North, Carn Brea South, Constantine, Falmouth Arwenack, Falmouth Boslowick, Falmouth Gyllyngvase, Falmouth Penwerris, Falmouth Trescobeas, Illogan, Mabe, Penryn East and Mylor, Penryn West, Redruth Central, Redruth North, Redruth South, St Day and Lanner, Stithians, Troon and Beacon.

Liskeard  (76,970)
Callington, Fowey, Gunnislake, Kelly Bray, Liskeard Central, Liskeard North, Liskeard South and Dobwalls, Looe East, Looe West and Lansallos, Lostwithiel, Menheniot, Pelynt, Rame, St Cleer, St Germans, St Ive, Saltash Burraton, Saltash Essa, Saltash Pill, Saltash St Stephens, Stokeclimsland, Torpoint East, Torpoint West.

St Ives ( 78,428)
Breage,Gulval and Heamoor, Gwinear-Gwithian and St Erth, Hayle North, Hayle South, Helston Central, Helston North, Lelant and Carbis Bay, Ludgvan, Marazion, Mullion, Newlyn and Mousehole, Penzance Central, Penzance East, Penzance Promenade, Porthleven and Helston South, St Buryan, St Ives North, St Ives South, St Just in Penwith, St Keverne and Meneage, Wendron, Bryher  Isles of Scilly, St Agnes  Isles of Scilly, St Martin’s  Isles of Scily, St Mary’s  Isles of Scilly, Tresco

Truro and St Austell  (75,651)
Bugle, Chacewater and Kenwyn,Feock and Kea, Ladock, St Clement and St Erme, Mevagissey,Mount Charles,Penwithick, Probus, Roseland, St Austell Bay, St Austell Bethel, St Austell Gover, St Austell Poltair, St Blaise, St Mewan, St Stephen, Threemilestone and Gloweth, Truro Boscawen, Truro Moresk, Truro Tregolls, Truro Trehaverne,Tywardreath


Bideford and Bude (Cornwall) 74,685
Altarnun  Cornwall, Bude North and Stratton  Cornwall, Bude South  Cornwall, Camelford  Cornwall, Flexbury and Poughill  Cornwall, Launceston Central  Cornwall, Launceston North  Cornwall, Launceston South  Cornwall, Poundstock  Cornwall, St Teath  Cornwall, Tintagel  Cornwall, Appledore Torridge, Bideford East Torridge, Bideford North Torridge, Bideford South Torridge, Clovelly Bay Torridge, Hartland and Bradworthy Torridge, Holsworthy Torridge, Kenwith Torridge, Monkleigh and Littleham, Northam Torridge, Orchard Hill Torridge, Tamarside Torridge, Torrington Torridge, Waldon Torridge,Westward Ho!

As you can see the new cross-border Parlimentary Seat will be called Bideford and Bude. I for one always expected the cross-border seat to be in the North of the County because for a start, there is not a rudy big river in the way.

Of course, these proposals are not definite because these still have to be approved by Parliament. That debate in the House could be rather heated, especially from those MP’s who face fighting another sitting MP, or receiving their P45’s.

I feel it will be rather interesting for the next few days.

Please feel free to leave a comment to the post, as I like to hear your views! However, comments that do not meet the rules of the site (found in Blog Disclaimer) will not be published. Furthermore, all comment need to be approved by admin before publication.